top of page

Journal entry 6 - 08/03/2019

This week started with an email from a new film streaming site called, Tru Indie.

They are looking for Indie filmmakers to submit their films for streaming on their site. I decided to apply with Dreamcatcher and Red Room a few weeks ago. I honestly didn't expect a response from them since I was a student. In the response they informed me that they are happy to include both films on their site and included a contract to sign with all the terms and also what information they require from me about each film, such as a synopsis for each movie and the cast and crew for each movie, This news has really gave me a boost as I had been slightly doubting my abilities recently, not because of anything in particular, but just me being silly due to stress. This news has made me want to make my new film Broken as good as it can be so that I can not only submit it for college but also to this website for streaming which continues at the moment with the music side of things which my fiancé, Joey Schmidt Music Productions, is working on. I also plan to revisit the rough cut of Broken with fresh eyes so that it can flow a lot smoother.

Something else that this has influenced is how I want my Logo and Animated production logo intro to look like. My original Idea was to incorporate a dreamcatcher into the logo as I had the idea of it representing the first film made under the Bensam Films name. However, I couldn't get this idea to work the way I wanted and felt at a cross roads. I spoke to my Tutor who suggested I first simplify my Logo as he felt it was too Busy. I took this advice and found a way to still have the look I wanted but without a lot of detail. I created 2 versions of this new logo, one of which is monochrome and the other I added some colour too. The colours I choose represent me and my family’s favourite colours. Once I created the new look to the logo, I definitely preferred it, however I was struggling to decide on an animation to go along with it as I felt the design wasn't telling me anything about the name, Bensam Films. Then A class mate hit me with an idea that I loved. He suggested I incorporate kids playing with the logo. The moment he said this I realized it fit so well with the style of the new logo design. The next step for me is to full research how to create silhouettes of kids playing that I can animate so that I can add in the logo as I have never done this type of animation before involving people and I want it to look as good as it can be.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Journal Entry 19 - 11/1/21 - Happy New Year? I Hope.

I can't believe how long its been since writing a journal entry on here. I think one of my favourite youtubers, Markiplier, did the best review of 2020. way better than I ever could. he looks into the

bottom of page